Scam alert – web designers targeted – hearing impaired wants agroamerica site

I moved this post about agroamerica scam to my main blog:

http://www.helloari.com/blog/2015/03/scam-alert-web-designers-targeted-hearing-impaired-wants-agroamerica-site/

Also read the Forum post here: http://www.graphicdesignforum.com/forum/forum/graphic-design/general/1584508-scam-alert

  • Ultimately, he wanted to send me the amount of the project plus an additional $2700 which I was then to pay his content manager.
  • Post any online classified ad and you’ll get a bunch of quick replies from people “interested in your item” they all use this we’ll send you extra money ploy. The check is always counterfeit.

In my full post I list  the 2 exchanges I had recently…. luckily that second one tipped me off that the first one was a scam. I didn’t waste time sending them a proposal.

A comment: That scam is almost as old as the rich africans trying to get their money out of the country. …. The check is always counterfeit.

40 thoughts on “Scam alert – web designers targeted – hearing impaired wants agroamerica site

  1. Ed Sanders April 21, 2015 / 5:31 pm

    I received this exact same scam, thanks for posting about it! Cheers, Ed

  2. Joe April 29, 2015 / 9:16 pm

    I received the same thing, only the name and email address changed.

    I did point out to the person that sent it that the domain name they were seeking was already taken by someone else. The person that registered it had apparently received the same proposal and tried to squat on the domain. (I looked up the registrant and they had registered the day before I received the proposal, and were a web developer)

    I even offered some other advice as to why they shouldn’t be requesting proposals the way they were as it might cause them to get scammed.

    In fact we went back and forth a couple of times and I could tell there was something up when they were not becoming discouraged by all the helpful questions I was asking them about their project.

    Thank you for posting this. Hopefully this post will get ranked soon for some of the related terms like agroamerica.com and other people will catch it before they get scammed.

  3. Peter Taft May 20, 2015 / 5:29 am

    Yes, I got the same scam email and had a exchange with Collins Reinhardt. Stay away!

    The emails:

    This project is only going to be informational for now. but as time goes on, as the site grows I will induce more features. Fro now is like a test running project.

    I want people to gain information and know more about some certain crops item and their benefits. people from any part of the world.

    I am the CEO
    In case I your wondering how I got your number, got to know about your services after asking a lady, some random lady told me about your services, I think her name is Diana, cant really remember but she said her ex used your service sometime ago and you did a great job. I hope that’s not a problem? I will be expecting the estimate/quote. Thanks

    Collins

    Subject: Re: website developer service needed
    Date: Tue, 19 May 2015 22:13:31 -0500
    To: collinsreinhardt@outlook.com

    Hi Collins,

    Yes, I’m the owner. I can certainly help you and meet your deadline.

    May I ask you a few questions to get us started? The answers will help guide my recommendations.

    Why do you want to do this new project?

    What does success look like?

    What sites do you like? What sites have you seen that appeal to you? That you wish yours was like?

    Who goes to your site? What do you want people to accomplish on your site?

    You said this is your business. Can you please elaborate on your position/responsibilities.

    How did you find me and what about my experience compelled you to reach out to me?

    Thank you in advance. Warm regards.

    Peter

    On May 19, 2015, at 9:32 PM, Collins Reinhardt wrote:

    Hi, I’m Collins and I’m writing in regards to our text conversation concerning the website I want you to build for me. l have small scale business which i want to turn into large scale business now it located in OR and the company is based on importing and exporting of Agriculture products such as Kola Nut, Gacillia Nut and Cocoa so i need a best of the best layout design for it. Can you handle that for me ?. so i need you to check out this site but i need something more perfect than this if its possible .http://www.agroamerica.com…. the site would only be informational, so i need you to give me an estimate based on the site i gave you to check out, the estimate should include hosting and i want the same page as the site i gave you to check out and i have a private project consultant, he has the text content and the logos for the site.

    Note:
    1. I want the same number of pages with the example site i gave you to check excluding videos and blogs.
    2. I want only English language
    3. I don’t have a domain yet but i want the domain name as qualityfarmproduce.info or qualityfarmers.info or something similar to that, just decide and it will be okay with me.
    4. you will be updating the site for me.
    5. i will be proving the images, logos and content for the site.
    6. i want the site up and running before ending of next month.
    7. My budget is $3000 to 6000

    Kindly get back to me with:
    (1) an estimate
    (2) Are you the owner

    Thanks
    Collins

  4. Dennis May 29, 2015 / 6:24 am

    Much like everyone above I got the same emails and the same text communications.
    I was skeptical from the very first text but like any freelance developer you have to collect more information if you want the job. I think this scammer is trying to take advantage of the wrong crowd. I like to think Web developers have an above average intelligence level and would quickly see through his attempts.

  5. Jack May 31, 2015 / 2:27 am

    The first clue to me was that he actually had a reasonable budget… I research all clients first. Avoided wasting time.

  6. James Tank Christensen June 2, 2015 / 9:21 pm

    So much for feeling special🙂 I got the same email today. Although the story changed a little bit…now she has lung cancer.

    On Tue, Jun 2, 2015 at 12:42 PM, jennifer Fillipo wrote:
    Greetings my name is JENNIFER i have small scale business which i want to turn into large scale business i want you to understand am going through illness situation at the moment because of my diagnosis of lungs cancer which i will be under going surgery soon and the company is based on importing and exporting of Agriculture products such as Kola Nut, Gacillia Nut and Cocoa so i need a best of the best layout design for it. Can you handle that for me ?
    THANKS
    JENNIFER

    2nd email
    so i need you to check out this site but i need something more perfect than this if its possible .http://www.agroamerica.com…. the site would only be informational, so i need you to give me an estimate based on the site i gave you to check out, the estimate should include hosting and i want the same page as the site i gave you to check out and i have a private project consultant, he has the text content and the logos for the site.i dont have any site.
    Note:
    1. I want the same number of pages with the example site i gave you to check excluding videos and blogs.
    2. I want only English language
    3. I don’t have a domain yet but i want the domain name as Farmsproducts.net
    4. you will be updating the site for me.
    5. i will be proving the images, logos and content for the site.
    6. i want the site up and running before ending of next month.

    Kindly get back to me with:
    (1) an estimate
    (2) your cell phone number
    (3) And will like to know if you are the owner ??
    my budget to be more than $2,000 to $5,000

    Best regard
    JENNIFER

  7. Mario June 3, 2015 / 9:48 am

    i received the same exact message today. This time his name was Henry Ruse.. I agree with Dennis, I believe he is targeting the wrong crowd.

    • Mario June 3, 2015 / 9:51 am

      I forgot to mention this is the email address he used Ruse Millar and signed it Henry Ruse… The last name made me think twice Ruse: an action intended to deceive someone; a trick

  8. David June 4, 2015 / 8:56 pm

    It seems that all these people have a lot of varied health problems. I got the email from Jennifer, but at the first one It was suspicious to me, Im glad I found this blog. Thanks!

  9. Jessica June 5, 2015 / 9:41 am

    I got the same scam!!! Thank goodness for google and searching agroamerica.com. The e-mail came from from a Jennifer Fillipo.

  10. julianbaughman June 8, 2015 / 8:43 am

    I just got this last week. Mine was from a charles kaiton. Kind of dissapointing but it explains all of the broken english emails. Can’t believe I didn’t check up on this before I wasted time quoting him out.

  11. Beth June 10, 2015 / 5:25 pm

    Yup I also received the same scam. What an A Hole! James Williams phone number he gave me 916.538-0236 email is : James Williams

    The minute he brought up the consultant I knew something was up! Hope they get these jerks and I hope other graphic designers do not actually send any money to this ass hole.

  12. Rokgoo August 5, 2015 / 8:47 am

    LOL, I got the same scam email from somebody with the name IYANU MASHELE and email address . The only difference, his budget is this time a bit higher, $5000 to $10,000. I let him know he should go and f..ing himself.

  13. Dee August 24, 2015 / 9:38 pm

    I also got contacted by this scammer except they wanted to use a Credit card instead of a check. I thought the email was suspicious from the beginning and then when he wanted me to send money to his assistant I knew it was a scam!

  14. GospelNerd September 13, 2015 / 1:55 pm

    Thank you for posting about this. Let’s keep this story at the top of Google, page 1 for “agromamerica scam” folks. It’s a shame because as I’m sure is the case for many of us, we could all use a job like that to just drop in our laps. Here’s the version I received this morning through my website’s contact form:

    Steven Donald

    Phone: (216) 454-9039

    Hello I am Steven Donald and i am hearing impaired i need to know if you can handle website design for a new company and i also need to know if you accept credit cards as form of payment ? i have small scale business which i want to turn into large scale business now and the company is based on importing and exporting of Agriculture products such as Kola Nut, Gacillia Nut and Cocoa so i need a best of the best layout design for it. Can you handle that for me?

    Then, after I responded:

    Thank you very much for the response so i need you to check out this site but i need something more perfect than this if its possible .http://www.agroamerica.com…. the site would only be informational, so i need you to give me an estimate based on the site i gave you to check out the estimate should include hosting and i want the same page as the site i gave you to check out and i have a private project consultant, he has the text content and the logos for the site. Note:
    1. I want the same number of pages with the example site i gave you to check excluding videos and blogs.
    2. I want only English language
    3. I don’t have a domain yet but i want the domain name as Livingfarmproduce.com
    4. you will be updating the site for me.
    5. i will be proving the images, logos and content for the site.
    6. i want the site up and running before ending of next month.
    7. My budget is $10000 to $15000

    Kindly get back to me with an estimate

    Favorable Regards

  15. Mike November 6, 2015 / 1:19 pm

    Hey guys, I just got the very same inquiry, only difference is it started with a text message. Dudes been texting me all morning, not sure what to do now that I see the email he sent me is almost identical to that of that above. . . .

  16. Tonya B. November 6, 2015 / 3:22 pm

    I was recently contacted by them also. Thank you for your post, because it seemed fishy too. I doubt that they will respond, but the communication thread is below:

    Hello Ryan,

    Thank you for your response. As stated in the previous email, we do require that all potential clients complete the web design questionnaire. You will also need to provide proper contact information, which is also requested on the questionnaire. Your name and email address are not verifiable. We do not conduct business with anyone that does not complete the questionnaire and that does not have verifiable contact information.

    Regards,

    TD Bradley
    Essential Effects Marketing & Promotions

    On 02.11.2015 04:54, Ryan Locke wrote:

    Good day. I am sorry for the late respond to your mail, I have been busy at the Hospital because am battling with Cancer right now, I hope everything goes well for me soon because am trying to undergo a surgery. I wont be able to talk on the phone for now, i will rather do texting just because of the nature of my health. I have a business which I want to turn into large scale business now it located in KY and the company is based on importing and exporting of Agriculture products such as Kola Nut,Timber and Cocoa so I need a best of the best layout design for it. I hope you can handle that for me. Check out this site: http://www.agroamerica.com, I will be happy if you can give me something better than this if its possible. The site would only be informational, so I need you to give me an estimate based on the site I gave you to check out. The estimate should include hosting and I want the same page as the site I gave you to check out. I have a private project consultant, he has the text content and the logos for the site.

    Note:

    . I want the same number of pages with the examples site I gave you to check excluding videos and blogs.

    2. I want only English language

    3. I don’t have a domain yet but I want the domain name as soamsbkybzw.com

    4. You will be updating the site for me.

    5. I will be proving the images, logos and content for the site.

    6. I want the site up and running before ending of next month.

    7. My budget is $4000 to $5000

    Kindly get back to me with:

    I. An Estimate

    Regards

    Ryan

    Date: Tue, 20 Oct 2015 22:17:21 -0500
    From: info@e2mp.com
    To: furiousryan88@hotmail.com
    Subject: Re: Website Design

    Hi Ryan,

    Thank you for contacting us. We will need to know more about the scope of your project. We do require all potential clients to complete the web design questionnaire located on our website. Our terms of payment are also located on our website.

    Please let us know if you have any further questions.

    Essential Effects Marketing & Promotions
    Tel: (713) 965-7306
    http://e2mp.com
    http://www.facebook.com/e2mpmarketing

    On 16.10.2015 11:42, Ryan Locke wrote:
    Good Day, I am Ryan. How are you doing? I need to know if you can handle website design for a new company and i also need to know if you accept credit cards as form of payment?

  17. Wes Ellis November 11, 2015 / 10:29 am

    Yeah – just got the same thing. Thanks to this, I blocked their number. Pleh…

  18. Victoria January 8, 2016 / 5:42 pm

    I just received the same thing this morning except in text form. The man called me by my design name and said he had one of my business cards! It makes me sick that people think this is ok. He needs to be stopped.

  19. haurisauris January 15, 2016 / 1:19 pm

    I am and industrial designer specializing in 3D models and I got the same exact scam. I told them I don’t do website and the persisted. So I even got a bid together to pass the job onto a buddy before realizing that the fishy hooks were really a scam.

    Thank you for this thread!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  20. Benito “Ben” Acovio III January 19, 2016 / 1:52 pm

    This individual is still at it. The current name is Gilbert Jimenez from phone number 415-340-4808. He’s currently in the hospital for surgery but is willing to give me his card’s info to charge over the amount and then to pay his consultant. His company should look similar to agroamerica.com but will call it solidfarmproductz.info. Email address gilbertjimenez94@yahoo.com

  21. Matt January 25, 2016 / 6:50 pm

    I think this is the guy.
    Registrant Name: Justin Chan
    Registrant Organization: DEV4PPL Development Co.
    Registrant Street: 1488 West 45th Granville St
    Registrant City: Vancouver
    Registrant State/Province: British Columbia
    Registrant Postal Code: V6M 2H1
    Registrant Country: CA
    Registrant Phone: +1.6043468113

  22. WebsitesFx LLC February 18, 2016 / 4:02 pm

    Hello I received the email on Monday. By the name of Belinda Alex with lung cancer who cannot talk. Here is her #+1 (410) 656-9470 also Belindaalex@gmail.com.

    So I almost fell for it, but thanks to this post I woke up. Just one thing she paid an invoice and I don’t plan to pay anyone. I am contacting the police.

    I texted her screenshot of these post and she told me she doesn’t understand. Anyways thanks

  23. Shelly March 6, 2016 / 3:34 pm

    I just received some texts from 415-340-4808 and it was a hearing impaired lady asking how much I charge for massage and if I take credit cards. I had messaged back and asked some questions. Seemed strange so I searched the number!

  24. Chris March 8, 2016 / 4:01 pm

    I just got the same thing. Hearing impaired woman looking for massage. 1(415)340-4808. Thanks guys! I knew it seemed fishy. Said the name was Kate Marshall.

  25. Cameron Arksey March 14, 2016 / 9:33 pm

    This is still going on! New names and email addresses to add to the list of scammers (hoping some potential victim will Google the names +scam or Agroamerica scam):

    Carolyn Morgan scam
    carolynm369@gmail.com

    Tracy Flummer scam aka Tracy Moore scam
    tracyjmoore3@gmail.com

    Velma V Felicia scam

    Trust your instincts, people!

  26. Sarah March 22, 2016 / 9:18 pm

    I received a text this evening at 11:41 from a Kate Marshal at (415) 340 – 4808, this is what it said.

    Hello this is Mrs Kate Marshal,am hearing impaired i will like to know if you do body massage and do you accept credit card as payment and are you the owner of the company??

    I replied yes, and I accept payments and I am the owner.

    Her reply : Okay good i want to book an appointment for my kids,and they will be coming for this on the 5th of this Next month and what type of credit card do you accept for payment?

    I replied and asked her if her kids were over the age of 18 bc if not they need to be with an adult at all times.

    Her reply: They are 2(females) for 60 minute and i want them to be coming twice in a week for 4 Weeks. Although i presently have problem with my car but i will make an arrangement for a private bus that will be bringing them on the day of their massage.
    Name:Shantel Marshal
    Age:19
    Name:Deborah Marshal
    Age:21
    Date:5th of next month
    Time:2:00pm
    Tuesdays and saturdays
    How much is the total cost for 2 girls for 60 min they will be coming twice in a week for 4 weeks and i will be paying upfront using my credit card

    I replied I’m the only therapist and would need more than two hours to work on both girls. She never replied back. What tipped me off was her saying they would have a private bus. Hope this helps guys!! Stay safe!

  27. Indigo March 30, 2016 / 3:33 pm

    Text I received from this number:

    “Hello this is Richard Kramer,am hearing impaired i will like to know if you do body massage and do you accept credit card as payment and are you the owner of the company??”

    I did not answer the text directly, as I was suspicious of the questions asked. Plus, I am in Alabama, so working a massage on someone in California is logistically impossible. I am assuming they got my number from my FB page.

  28. sharxbyte April 1, 2016 / 8:13 pm

    I’m a massage therapist, and the person wants me to pay the bus driver to deliver the same girls except last name Kramer.

  29. Eugena April 9, 2016 / 7:16 am

    I had credit card fraud moments after he/she posted this same text to me. I’m sure they are just verifying phone numbers when you respond to commit the CC fraud. How is this person. Not in jail?! 415 340 4808 Lock those fuckets up!

  30. Darci April 28, 2016 / 7:56 am

    This gem came in yesterday from “Richard Kramer” after we texted at 8am yesterday:

    “I have small scale business which i want to turn into large scale business now it located in CA and the company is based on importing and exporting of Agriculture products such as Kola Nut, Gacillia Nut and Cocoa so i need a best of the best layout design for it. Can you handle that for me ?

    so i need you to check out this site but i need something more perfect than this if its possible. http://www.agroamerica.com…. the site would only be informational, so i need you to give me an estimate based on the site i gave you to check out, the estimate should include hosting and i want the same page as the site i gave you to check out and i have a private project consultant, he has the text content and the logos for the site.
    Note:
    1. I want the same number of pages with the example site i gave you to check excluding videos and blogs.
    2. I want only English language
    3. I don’t have a domain yet but i want the domain name jimenezfarm-product.net
    4. you will be updating the site for me.
    5. i will be proving the images, logos and content for the site.
    6. i want the site up and running before ending of June
    7. My budget is $3000 to $5000

    Kindly get back to me with:
    (1) an estimate
    (2) And will like to know if you are the owner ??”

    It’s funny that they’re still using the same phone number for all of this 415-340-4808 richard_kramer@mycertifiedpersonalmail.com.

    I thought something seemed weird, it just seemed like this wasn’t his first rodeo from answering all of those questions up front; and actually come to think of it, I’ve never had a client just come out and say “i have a 3-5k budget”, I mean it’s helpful to hear but it never happens haha.

  31. Matthew May 2, 2016 / 10:50 am

    Same bullshit here as above…. Richard Kramer, same template email, requested that I use a service other than PayPal to process his credit cards. Seemed fishy so I googled the email address, brought me here. Thanks for the thread, watch out for this shit… will waste your time.

  32. Kellie May 19, 2016 / 9:14 am

    Gilbert Jimenez (415-340-4808)is still at it, now he is hearing impaired. He found my small business and was trying to book appointments and asking for quotes on art classes! He said he could only pay by cc.

  33. Jeremy W. May 27, 2016 / 10:43 am

    Gilbert Jimenez just hit me up via text today. Looks like it was the same situation as everyone else (hearing impaired, pay via credit card, wanted a budget proposal, etc). I’m a recording and mixing engineer and he had two vocalists he wanted me to record and mix for him. Very suspicious.

    Name: Gilbert Jimenez
    Phone: +14153404808
    Email: Gilbertjimenez94@yahoo.com

Leave a Reply

